NM CCW Permit Renewals
FOR RENEWAL APPLICATIONS:
Complete and send in the NM DPS CCW Application, check off the "Renewal Application" box
Include the $75.00 Fee (check or money order)
Include a photocopy of your New Mexico Driver’s License or Identification Card
Include a printout of the Certificate of Completion of Firearms Training I will send you
NOTE: As of June 2015, fingerprints are no longer required for renewals
NOTE: You do not have to send your CCW license in with your renewal application
NOTE: You do not have to complete the forms on:
Page 7 (NEW MEXICO DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY AUTHORIZATION TO OBTAIN HEALTH INFORMATION) and
Page 8 (AUTHORIZATION FOR RELEASE OF INFORMATION) of the application package for renewals (again, the pages are not numbered).
If mailing your renewal application package, mail to:
NM Department of Public Safety
SID/Concealed Carry Unit
6301 Indian School Rd. NE Suite 310
Albuquerque, NM 87110
You may also choose to hand-deliver your package at the same address...check their business hours first.
The New Mexico DPS rules state that NM CCW permit holders must complete a "renewal" class within 60 days before the expiration date of your license, and up to 60 days after the expiration date.
NOTE: DURING THE CURRENT COVID-19 PANDEMIC, NM DPS HAS EXTENDED THE "GRACE" PERIOD TO 120 DAYS FOLLOWING PERMIT EXPIRATION. THIS DOES NOT MEAN YOUR PERMIT WILL NOT EXPIRE FOR 120 DAYS - IT ONLY MEANS YOU HAVE 120 DAYS AFTER EXPIRATION TO TAKE THE RENEWAL CLASS WITHOUT BEING CONCERNED WITH HAVING TO TAKE THE ENTIRE 2-DAY, INITIAL PERMIT CLASS.
UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE, IF YOUR PERMIT HAS BEEN EXPIRED FOR MORE
THAN 120 DAYS, YOU MUST TAKE THE INITIAL PERMIT CLASS OVER AGAIN.
Duration of the renewal class is 4 hours and you must also shoot the requalification course of fire with the calibers and categories of firearms that are listed on your current license.
NOTE: DPS does not calculate your exact date into the 60 days ahead and after...only the months are important.
For example, if your license expires on March 15th, you can take the renewal class anytime during January, February, and March UP TO THE EXPIRATION DATE -- in this example, March 15th.
If you go beyond the expiration date to take the renewal class, you will NOT be able to legally carry a concealed firearm and your CCW license is invalid.
Please, DO NOT WAIT MORE THAN 60 days beyond your permit expiration date to take the class. If you do, NM DPS rules state that you will NOT be able to take a renewal class...you will have to take the entire 15-hour NM CCW course all over again.
Please check with me to determine if any of my renewal classes will be within 60 days prior to your expiration date.
If they are, I will send you a link to sign up for the class and include more information.
Per NM Statute 10.8.2.17 LICENSE RENEWAL AND TRANSFER:
A. To renew a New Mexico license. A licensee may file an application for a renewed license on the form prescribed by the department.
(1) The licensee may file the application anytime from 60 calendar days before the license expires until 60 calendar days after the license expires. If the license has expired, a licensee shall not carry a concealed handgun until he receives his renewed license.
(2) The licensee shall complete a refresher firearms training course prior to filing the application.
(3) The licensee shall file with the department:
(a) 2 full sets of fingerprints as required by NMSA 1978 Section 29-19-5 and 10.8.2.14 NMAC;