top of page

Concealed Carry and Home Defense
for People Who Hate Guns

Do you hate guns?

Do you dislike those who own and use guns?

Do you know someone who also hates guns?

Then, this class just may be for you!!


Here's my proposal...

I will give you (and others who hate guns)
the classroom portion of my New Mexico Department of Safety-certified class on concealed carry and home defense...for free. That's a $185 value.

All you have to do is sign up, show up, and I'll do the rest. You will learn the same classroom and topic content that is required for those who are in the process of obtaining an NM DPS-issued concealed carry permit...except for the shooting part.




Here are the NM DPS-required classroom-based topics and what you will receive in this class:

  • Knowledge of and safe handling of single- and double-action revolvers and semi automatic handguns;

  • Firearm safety

    • How to use a firearm safely

    • Safe storage of handguns

    • Child safety

    • Safe handgun shooting fundamentals 

  • Identification of ways to develop and maintain handgun shooting skills 

  • Federal, state and local criminal and civil laws pertaining to the purchase, ownership, transportation, use and possession of handguns

  • Techniques for avoiding a criminal attack and how to control a violent confrontation; and

  • Techniques for nonviolent dispute resolution.

Some other important topics of discussion but not required by NM DPS:


  • Moral and societal aspects of responsible firearm ownership and use

  • Implementing and practicing Situational Awareness

  • How to attain and use the "defensive mindset" for personal safety

  • Interacting with the police while carrying or after using a firearm in self defense

  • The importance of carrying and using a handgun responsibly and ethically for personal protection

  • Rules for using and storing a gun

  • Self defense considerations; using "less lethal" force

  • Psychological and physiological considerations during a personal attack against you

  • Techniques for controlling and responding to a violent attack 

  • The legal, emotional, and social aftermath of a defensive shooting

  • The importance of training

  • Equipment and methods for carrying a firearm

I can guarantee some lively discussion and debate in the class as well.  While I am not trying to change your mind, you may decide to become a gun owner after the class.

If, after the end of the class, you are interested in shooting the course of fire on another day at some point in the future I will count your classroom time as "credit" towards the entire NM CCW class which will earn you a certificate of completion. If you decide to obtain a certificate of completion, I will invoice you at a substantial discount from my regular class price of $185.

As a certificate of completion holder, you are not required to apply to the state of New Mexico for a CCW permit, but you could, if you wanted to, so long as you did so within 90 days of the date on the certificate. Even if you don't apply for a CCW permit, you will gain a wealth of knowledge about responsible and ethical firearm ownership and use.

The class will be held at the Los Alamos Sportsmens Club classroom from 8am to 5pm.

The class is limited to 15 students.

To ensure there will be enough room and due to the adult nature of the discussion, the minimum age for students is 21.


To sign up for this class, click here.

bottom of page