NOTE: The document at that link is 41 pages long. If you download the entire document, the application information starts on Page 31. The actual application is
located on Page 35 and 36. Be sure to use the checklist on Page 31. Also, note that the pages are not numbered.
Include the $75.00 Fee (check or money order)
Include a photocopy of your New Mexico Driver’s License or Identification Card
Include a printout of the Certificate of Completion of Firearms Training I will send you
NOTE: AS OF JUNE 2015, FINGERPRINTS ARE NO LONGER REQUIRED FOR RENEWAL APPLICATIONS.
NOTE (February 8, 2017): Under normal circumstances, renewal applicants do not have to have fingerprints taken again. However, if a renewal applicant has
never had the electronic fingerprint process completed, NM DPS requires those renewal applicants to obtain the electronic fingerprints as if they were applying for a new NM CCW
If that is the case for you, please follow the directions listed on the "Fingerprint Info" link.
Also, if this pertains to you, be sure to deduct the $44 fingerprint fee from the $75 renewal fee above, and only send in $31 for
your renewal fee to NM DPS. If you pay $44 for the fingerprint fee, and still send in $75, you will overpay and you will not receive a refund from NM DPS.
Finally, if this pertains to you, include a copy of your Gemalto email receipt with your renewal application showing that you
already paid $44 for the fingerprint fee.
If mailing your renewal application package, mail to:
NM Department of Public Safety
SID/Concealed Carry Unit
6301 Indian School Rd. NE Suite 310
Albuquerque, NM 87110
You may also choose to hand-deliver your package at the same address...check their business hours first.
The New Mexico DPS rules state that NM CCW permit holders must complete a "renewal" class within 60 days before the expiration date of your license, and up to 60 days
after the expiration date.
Duration of the renewal class is 4 hours and you must also shoot the requalification course of fire with the
calibers and categories of firearms that are listed on your license.
NOTE: DPS does not calculate your exact date into the 60 days ahead and after...only the months are important.
For example, if your license expires on March 15th, you can take the renewal class anytime during January, February, and March UP TO THE EXPIRATION DATE -- in this
example, March 15th.
If you go beyond the expiration date to take the renewal class, you will NOT be able to
legally carry a concealed firearm and your CCW license is invalid.
Please, DO NOT WAIT MORE THAN 60 days beyond your permit expiration date to take the class. If you do, NM DPS rules state that you will NOT be able to take
a renewal class...you will have to take the entire 15-hour NM CCW course all over again.
Please check with meto determine if any of my renewal classes will be
within 60 days prior to your expiration date.
If they are, I will send you a link to sign up for the class and include more information.
Also, since I conduct both Refresher and Renewal classes the same day, please click here to let me know which one you are signing up for.
Per NM Statute 10.8.2.17 LICENSE RENEWAL AND TRANSFER:
A. To renew a New Mexico license. A licensee may file an application for a renewed license on the form prescribed by the
(1) The licensee may file the application anytime from 60 calendar days before the license expires until 60 calendar days after the license
expires. If the license has expired, a licensee shall not carry a concealed handgun until he receives his renewed license.
(2) The licensee shall complete a refresher firearms training course prior to filing the application.
(3) The licensee shall file with the department:
(a) 2 full sets of fingerprints as required by NMSA 1978 Section 29-19-5 and 10.8.2.14 NMAC;
NOTE: AS OF JUNE 2015, FINGERPRINTS ARE NOT REQUIRED FOR RENEWALS
(b) a certified copy of a certificate of completion for a refresher firearms training course approved by the department issued by an
approved instructor not more than 90 days prior to the date the application is filed; and
(c) a nonrefundable $75.00 renewal fee
(d) a copy of New Mexico driver’s license or other government issued identification which contains a picture
All text, images, and graphics specifically relating to WYOR.com on this web site are
copyrighted by Michael R. Grimler, Firearm Instructor, 2015 -- All Rights Reserved -- Violators will be prosecuted.