History of the NM CCW Law

JUNE 2001

  • The New Mexico legislature approves the first concealed carry law effective July 1, 2001.

NOVEMBER 2001

  • NM DPS suspends implementation of concealed carry based on impending challenge to NM Supreme Court that the "opt out" portion of the law for municipalities is unconstitutional

JUNE 2002

  • NM Supreme Court rules the first concealed carry law is indeed unconstitutional
  • NM DPS suspension of training and instructor certification becomes permanent

JULY 2003

  • Second NM CCW law is passed
  • Each gun desired on CCW permit had to be qualified with. Some students are qualifying with 7 or 8 different guns.
  • Minimum age is 25
  • License good for 2 years
  • Cannot carry into any store selling liquor, including grocery stores and drug stores, such as Walgreens

DECEMBER 2003

  • NM DPS announces first batch of approved NM CCW instructors.

JANUARY 2004

  • NM DPS issues the first batch of Concealed Carry Licenses

MAY 2004

  • Second challenge of the concealed carry law is put before the NM Supreme Court based on NM Constitution language regarding "nothing herein" 
  • NM Supreme Court throws out the challenge, agreeing with the State that it was legal for the legislature to pass the concealed carry law.

JANUARY 2005

  • Second NM concealed carry law goes into effect

NOVEMBER 2005

  • The age limit for license holders was lowered to 21 from 25.
  • Licenses valid for 4 years instead of 2.  
  • License holders need to re-qualify on the range every 2 years (2-hour refresher training).
  • License holders need to renew every 4 years and re-qualify on the range (4-hour renewal training).
    • New application for renewal, $75 fee, new fingerprint cards, new releases, etc.
  • They will be able to carry any firearm of the same type (revolver, semi-auto, derringer), of the same or smaller caliber than that with which they qualified.  
  • Most law enforcement officers, currently employed and retired will be able to obtain a license with departmental training instead of the private training required for all others. They will also be exempt for paying the application fee.

JULY 2007

  • CCW holders can now carry into stores selling liquor for OFFSITE consumption, e.g., OK to carry concealed into grocery stores, Walgreens, etc.

JULY 2010

  • NM concealed carry holders allowed to carry concealed into restaurants that serve only beer and wine (unless specifically indicated otherwise via signage or personal notification).

 

 

Contact Information

Michael R. Grimler, Firearm Instructor

WYOR

Headquartered in Northern New Mexico

 

Click here to email me

 

Or use my contact form

Click here to get notified when this page content changes!

Get Social With Us

Print Print | Sitemap
© WYOR