NM CCW Information for US Military Service Persons and Members of the New Mexico Mounted Patrol

MILITARY SERVICE PERSONS

 

As of June 2015, the New Mexico Department of Public Safety made some administrative changes for NM CCW applicants who are also Military Service Persons.

 

A "Military Service Person" is defined as being on active duty with the United States armed forces, is on reserve or guard duty with the United States armed forces, or is a veteran or retiree who received an honorable discharge as indicated on a US Department of Defense Form 214 (DD214).
 

Current active duty military personnel and veterans who have been honorably discharged from any of the US military organizations within the last 20 year period are no longer required to take an NM CCW training course, nor are they charged a license fee for their NM CCW permit, nor do they shoot a qualifying course of fire.

 

However, if a veteran was discharged more than 20 years ago, they still need to take and pay for the initial (15-hour) NM CCW training course which includes shooting the qualification course of fire. They are also exempt from paying for their NM CCW license fee with the State of New Mexico.

Additionally, former military personnel who are current NM CCW holders do not need to take future refresher or renewal classes so long as they are within the 20-year period following their discharge. Once they go beyond the 20-year mark, they must take and pay for renewal and refresher classes along with shooting the course of fire during those refresher/renewal events.

 

Current active duty personnel and qualifying veterans as noted above must send a copy of their DD214 with their initial NM CCW applications as proof they are eligible for the waiver. Their issued licenses will default to the designation of ".45 Semi-Auto" and ".45 non-Semi-Auto" calibers.
 

The license is valid for 5 years.

 

Military service persons also need to submit fingerprints via the Cogent automated system with their CCW applications, and they are not exempt for paying for the fingerprint processing.

 

NEW MEXICO MOUNTED PATROL MEMBERS

 

Pursuant to Section 29-19-14 NMSA, members of the New Mexico Mounted Patrol have the same requirements as current and retired law enforcement personnel.

An application fee, a renewal fee, and a firearms training course are not required for an applicant or licensee who has successfully completed a law enforcement academy basic law enforcement training program for New Mexico Mounted Patrol.

NM Mounted Patrol members also need to submit fingerprints via the Cogent automated system with their CCW applications, and they are not exempt for paying for the fingerprint processing.

The license is valid for 5 years.

 

Contact Information

Michael R. Grimler, Firearm Instructor

WYOR

Headquartered in Northern New Mexico

 

Click here to email me

 

Or use my contact form

Click here to get notified when this page content changes!

Get Social With Us

Print Print | Sitemap
© WYOR